LockLaces review

I ran this past weekend in the ShamRock&Roll 5K in Whispering Pines, NC.    It was really nice running weather, cloud coverage and mid 50s. 530+ runners in the 5K lined up at the start line and the gun went off at 9:15am. Within a half mile I already passed a runner off the side of the road tying his shoes. My brain was already adding those minutes he lost to his final time. I then saw two more at the water station at the halfway point re-tying. And another two more a half mile before the finish line re-tying.  The last sprint to the finish line and you’re stooped over re-tying your shoe? All I could think was, “Man, I hope they’re running just for fun and not a PR.”  Shoe tying has to be the most mundane and frustrating thing to have to do while running any length of race. It doesn’t have to be though.

A runner bends down to tie his shoe before the start of the 2009 New York City Marathon

About a month ago I was online looking for purple laces to add to my running attire to show support for Alzheimer’s and I found this company called LockLaces. The laces looked really cool and innovative   I have a confession to make, I originally bought them because they were a more manly purple than other laces I looked at. They seem to be the only company offering dark purple laces that a guy like me would want to wear. Trust me, I looked at a lot of purple laces.  I now have over 30 miles and 2 5Ks in them, and I can say I love my LockLaces.

LockLaces

1363447779422

The package has clear instructions right on them. But, if you need, they made a great video explaining how to lace you shoes.  All parts are included and the initial lacing takes the same amount of time as it does with regular laces. It may take a few runs to dial in the tightness of your shoe by quick adjustments of the “lock mechanism” (there is probably a technical name). I originally cut the laces about an inch longer than recommended and I’m glad I did, cause when I strung up my shoe I was ambitious and it was really tight, so I had to loosen a couple times.  I have them adjusted perfect now and it feels like I am putting on a slipper. I used to have to tie and re-tie to get the tightness just right.  Now, I just slip my foot into my shoe and off I go .

LockLacesSpring

I took advantage of a spring deal LockLaces has going on right now on their Facebook Page.  You have until March 31st to take advantage of this offer. If you send in your old laces they’ll send you a coupon for a free pair. So now the hot pink ones are on their way for my 7 year-old daughter.  She’s been asking when she’s gonna get a pair of LockLaces for her shoes.  If you decide to order some let me know how you like them, and see if they don’t shave some time by not having to stop and re-tie every mile or so.

Disclosure: I bought the LockLaces pictured here.   It was my decision to do this review about them and all opinions expressed are on my own.

About rifflewader

I'm running 13 5Ks in 2013 to raise money and awareness of Alzheimer's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LockLaces review

  1. Danielle says:

    Great post. Ainsley got her locklaces today. I know her teachers are glad that her shoes no longer need tied!

Leave a Reply

