Race Week!

ShamRock-N-Roll-LogoMy next race is this Saturday in Whispering Pines, NC. The ShamRock&Roll 5K/10K is in its 5th year. I chose this race as part of my 13IN2013 races for a couple reasons. First, I think the proceeds were going to a great cause. They support the following places:

The Athletic Club of the SandhillsThe non-profit Athletic Club of the Sandhills has a 30 year philosophy to make better athletes in the Sandhills of North Carolina through soccer, both recreational and travel, volleyball programs & most recently, its Tri Program.  Race profits will help AC Sandhills further initiatives like after school soccer programs for Moore County students and scholarships to allow deserving athletes opportunities within the club.

Moore County Schools: Moore County Schools is dedicated to promoting achievement through continually improving our facilities and providing the education our students must have to meet the needs of the changing times.

Supporting athletics and the “Now” generation is a no brainer for me.  To come alongside them and run for these causes is a valuable investment of my time and energy.  Energy….that brings me to my second reason.

I love the idea of running in the Sandhills and assumed it had to be a flat race. My last two felt like I was climbing mountains not “rolling hills.”  How difficult could this course be? I mean sandhills at the beach are pretty docile. The beach is fairly flat. I got this! I might even break a 30 min 5K (I’m dreaming) I was really excited until…

One of things I’ve been learning is to research where you run so that you can get a better idea of how to train for the race. I mapped the course on Runtastic and really loved the course. It cuts through a golf course, nice view of a couple lakes and just some great scenery. Unfortunately I pressed the “elevation” button. Why do guys press buttons?  It only leads to harm. At mile marker 1 I will hit a 50ft climb in less than a 100 yard distance and then again at the 2 mile mark. But from there to the finish line its all downhill. So it may not be too bad after all. I read this week on Coach Patrick Reed’s blog  that you should “run your hard parts easy and your easy parts hard.”  My strategy on Saturday and every day from here on out.

See you on the road!

About rifflewader

I'm running 13 5Ks in 2013 to raise money and awareness of Alzheimer's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

