A Cold, Wet, Rainy 5K

 

Miles4Missions4

Saturday morning was not the type of morning I signed up for when I made this goal of running 13 5Ks in 2013. It was cold (35 degrees) and wet. (I think I saw ducks swimming in the road). I followed a few of the pointers I learned from last weeks blog. I had a separate pair of shoes for warm-up; my trash bags had cut outs for my head and arms for standing at the start line; and I had an extra change of clothes and towel for after the race.  But, none of that prepared me for the cold wet slosh I would endure for 3.11 miles.

When the gun went off I was towards the back of the pack again. That’s been my race strategy. I’m slow, so I let the fastest runners stay in front so I don’t feel the urge to run faster as they pass me. It worked.  I stayed at a 9:30 pace for the first mile and slowed for mile 2 and 3, but I didn’t feel like I was over doing it. I felt good at the end, other than the soaked clothes and cold finger tips.

Miles4Missions

 I’m ready for a sunny race again. I’m glad my first 2 races were sunny otherwise I might have hung up the shoes and said, “I’m done.”  But, you know – I’ve learned over the last couple months that every type of run is important to experience. They make you stronger for the next race. Thirty three minutes in a cold, steady rain is definitely an experience, confidence building one.

My next race is down in Whispering Pines March 16th. Come run with me or just stop by to say, “Hi.”   I’ll be the slowpoke in the back.

Miles4Missions2

About rifflewader

I'm running 13 5Ks in 2013 to raise money and awareness of Alzheimer's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Cold, Wet, Rainy 5K

  1. adiadaire says:

    You’re legit now, baby!!! Keep up the awesome work!!! We’re all very proud of you!!!

  2. Kelly says:

    Yeah! Woohoo! Bravo! Strong work! Adda boy! You did it! Way to go….

    Congrats on a strong finish and another step closer to accomplishing your goal!

  3. kw6372 says:

    Congratulations on completing your third 5K this year! Quite an accomplishment! Best wishes from a fellow runner from Texas….

  4. Michelle Carter Guzas says:

    So proud of you big bro! Keep running and we’ll beat this!

Leave a Reply

