Sore Shins

This last week has been hard.  I got done running Wednesday and my shins were on fire. “Oh great now I have shin splints. “- were my thoughts.  How am I going run 13 5Ks with shin splints. That would be the worse thing a beginning runner could do is continue to run with shin splints. Plus every step hurt. Well, I stretched and stretch and read to determine how to alleviate this pain I had. Then I stretched some more. My run Friday was mediocre, I’m still averaging a 12:38 min. mile, but my shins started hurting again half way through the run. So, I slowed down to alleviate the pain. Once again after the run my shins were hurting. I stretched and drank electrolytes and stretched some more.

I was really discouraged this weekend. My legs hurt and I couldn’t see running anymore. They hurt walking stairs, getting off the couch, or getting out of the car. The pain at a few points was definitely not normal. No matter how many calf raises, or toe raises I did, my legs wouldn’t give me any relief.

Then on Sunday  morning, I woke and my legs felt really good. No pain, a little sore but a good sore. I went to church to serve as leader for my church’s  5/6 grade service and one of the songs on our playlist really hit home and gave me a better outlook on completing this goal I started only a few weeks ago. I’ve heard it a hundred times but I never felt the words. If you get a chance, give it a listen Planetshakers ‘Nothing is Impossible’  One line in the song: “Through You all things are possible, strongholds are broken, It is You who gives me strength” was what I need to hear. I need to focus on the goal and rely on my faith to finish this strong.

See you on the road.

 

About rifflewader

I'm running 13 5Ks in 2013 to raise money and awareness of Alzheimer's.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sore Shins

  1. adiadaire says:

    Very impressive on many levels. You can do this! We need to stretch more and drink more water. Just not tonight, we have an old Elementary to catch up on 🙂

  2. Chris says:

    Sorry about the shin splints! I had an issue with that in September. This is what I did, nothing earth shattering, but it helped! Iced my affected area, aspirin, and wrapped them. I used Ace bandages originally, then I found wraps at CVS to use with velcro (the inside are rubber so easier to clean). I hope this helps and those splints go away soon!

Leave a Reply

