Virtual Races

I had never heard of this before. Run a race anywhere at anytime. I quite like the fact that I can run on a particular date by myself or with a group and get credit for the run. Of course its strictly an honor system type of run. One of the Virtual race sites I found today is Anywhere5K . They have a lot of races planned over the next few months. And, they are free!! A couple races may ask for a donation to a great cause but that will be stated in the race info prior to you signing up.

The website states:

  1. Run a 5K race anywhere you’d like.
  2. Post your time and location (city/state/country) on Twitter with the #Anywhere5K hashtag, on our Facebook page, or on our site.
  3. (optional) Add a photo or details of your run.

It’s that easy.  Check em out, give it a try and tell me how you like it. I’ll be looking at doing a couple of these to complete my #13N2013 runs over the next several months.

See you on the road,

Mike

About rifflewader

I'm running 13 5Ks in 2013 to raise money and awareness of Alzheimer's.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Virtual Races

  1. Danielle says:

    I’m afraid that my idea of a virtual run is seeing a little cartoon character of myself zip across the computer screen while I kick back with a martini and zone out until I hear canned clapping and cheering because my little-virtual-self took first place, of course. Sorry for the run-on sentence, but it’s all the running I can muster for the moment…

  2. Mike Ellis says:

    I’m not a runner, but nevertheless, I like the idea of using this as a way to help prepare for a 5k I will do in August. (I do one every 2 years in August in whatever seems to be the hottest locale in the US at that moment). I hate the 5k but it’s for a good cause and so maybe I can use this to help me get inspired and ready.

    • rifflewader says:

      Mike, Anywhere5K has some great races throughout the year, and I’m learning more and more about them. You could sign up for a run and run it on a treadmill instead of the blazing heat. My goal this year is to try and run 13 5Ks and here in NC it gets blazing hot in July & August so to offset the outdoor races with a few indoor runs is ideal. I hope your run goes well and you all raise a lot of money for your cause.

Leave a Reply

