Calf cramps

I thought I followed all the running rules  yesterday: hydrate, hydrate, hydrate, and then stretch and then hydrate some more. I felt great. My run was great, my afternoon was great, my evening was great until… 2am. I awoke with the tightest calf I have ever experienced. I thought I’d get out of bed and stretch and walk it of. As I stepped out of bed, I muffled a blood curdling scream  masculine throat clearing cough due to the pain. Why is it always at the wee hours of the morning when you experience calf cramps,arch cramps, or deep desires to eat the entire pantry? After what seemed like hours, ten minutes I was able to walk downstairs and stretch again and drink. more. water. By 3am I was back into bed and dreaming of the mileage I needed to log before my first race 34 days away.

About rifflewader

I'm running 13 5Ks in 2013 to raise money and awareness of Alzheimer's.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calf cramps

  1. trueindigo says:

    You might be diluting all of your body’s awesome electroites with that great hydrating. Try drinking some tonic water for the quinine or take some Endurolytes from Hammer Nutrition are great. I have family members who have curbed leg cramps that way.

    • rifflewader says:

      Thanks for the info! Im still trying to learn all the intricacies of running,hydrating and nutrition as I go. I’ll definitely try the tonic water. I think I’m one of the only people that likes tonic water plain.

  2. Danielle says:

    Oh man, and I had no idea any of that was going on (thank you, muscle relaxant and vanilla vodka!). We need to step up the great nutrition for sure!

Leave a Reply

