Rest Day

Today was to be my rest day. Nope, I was asked by my kids school to help with their phone system install. My day job is working on business telephone systems and so I lent my expertise, little know how, to the project. Well, there were several wire pulls that had to get done and it required pulling the wire up in the ceiling and under a walk way. I volunteered for both. After stretching into, and contorting to fit in the tight places required to get the cables run I had one last simple job to do: pull the wire across the walkway. I had forgotten that we had pulled a few boards off that walkway to gain access to the underside of the building and as I walked backwards carrying the cables, my sudden jerk downwards reminded me about the missing boards. I fell into the hole with one leg and the other still on the deck,a basic split. Something I haven’t done in 25 years. As I lay there wishing I was home napping wondering what happened, I realized I did a body check. Anything broken? Twisted ankle? Pulled muscle? Can I still run? Wait, did I really just ask myself if I could still run? Do you catch the “run bug” that fast? I’ve only been at this for a couple months. Do those thoughts run through your head after only a couple months of serious running? I believe I’m more and more thinking like a runner.

Well, climbing the ladder 6 thousand times a half dozen times, crawling under the walkway, and the fall, I consider I beg you to consider as cross training maybe a stretch? I think I’ll take another chance at a rest day tomorrow. My body can’t take two “cross training” days in a row. Not just yet…

About rifflewader

I'm running 13 5Ks in 2013 to raise money and awareness of Alzheimer's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rest Day

  1. hoss says:

    This made me laugh out loud. You are doing great and have this blog this down. Keep it up carter. Im rooting fir ya. No more splits.

  2. Danielle says:

    You’re awesome to help out the school on your day off. I’m glad no serious injuries were sustained! 🙂

  3. Kasey Barr says:

    This was great. I love all the marked out thoughts. Your too funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

