#13N2013

Well, here I am. Blogging?!? I’m gonna try to keep a diary of my journey of running for Alzheimer’s.  “Try” is a very strong word. I never got into journaling or writing down my thoughts. I tried to journal the birth of my daughter. I got four posts in the first 2 months and she’s now almost 7. So you see where this might go. But 2013 is all about change.

My mom was diagnosed 14yrs ago with Early On-set Alzheimer’s and I have walked and ran in her memory in the past, but this year I’m trying something different. I decided a couple of months ago to step up on my exercising and needed a goal. With my mom not getting any better and the need to tell as many people as I can- twitter/Facebook are great ways but I want to let more people to know I wanted to run in her honor. Now, I’m all about 3s. Dont know why.  I had this great idea: run 1[3] 5Ks ([3] miles)and a 1/2 Marathon (1[3] miles)  in 201[3]. See where I’m going with this? I found out a couple of days ago that my idea isn’t an original- Super Runners   It seems there are a lot of great runners out there with the same idea. Maybe I’m more of a runner than I thought, naw not yet.

I’m on my way to #13N2013. I signed up for my first 5K([3]miles) on Feb 23rd. I’ve been running for two months now despite the flu and other crud.  I’m still running at a turtle pace but getting faster with every mile. We will see how the weeks go to the big inaugural day. The only goal I have for running this race is to finish, no PR (personal record for you non-runners),yet.

Check out my donation page:  Make a Donation I set it up to help defray the costs of the races, and also give to The Eastern NC Chapter of the Alzheimer’s Association in my mom’s name.

I’m gonna try, theres that word again, to blog weekly, so keep coming back.

See you on the road!

Mike

About rifflewader

I'm running 13 5Ks in 2013 to raise money and awareness of Alzheimer's.
This entry was posted in Running, Training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #13N2013

  1. Danielle says:

    Your mom would be so proud of you. I’m sure you dad is and I am too!!! I’m behind you 1000% 🙂

  2. Pingback: Race Week! | Diary of a Wannabe Runner

Leave a Reply

